I Am Soooo Tired...

of the inconsistency of soy wax! I have been using it for 6 years now, and almost every time I reorder wax, I have to retest my entire line since it burns soooo differently from batch to batch. :mad: Therefore, you seasoned paraffin, or paraffin blend users , I NEED YOUR HELP.

I know I will probably lose 20% of my customers to a candle that is NOT all soy, but I am tired of retesting and am willing to deal with the loss. As they say, "out with the old, in with the new". However, for the 80% that do not care whether it is soy wax, or not, and just want a great throwing, burning candle with little to no soot, I need wax suggestions! I prefer a preblend, but this is not written in stone.

I know I will have to test, test, test for myself! I also know I will get a ton of different opinions, and what works for them may not work for me, but PLEASE give me your expertise on this subject, and I promise I will test, test, test, and make up my own mind. I just need suggestions on the "better" waxes out there so I do not spend an arm and a leg trying to find "my" wax. My husband lost his job the beginning of the year, and to be honest, we cannot afford to test every wax out there, so any, and all help, will definately be appreciated!

Thanks in advance everyone!

I quit trying to make 100% Soy candles just for the same reasons you mentioned and I was really tired of not getting a decent throw out of the stuff. So I switched over to a 70/30 blend from GL which I have not had any problems with at all, I have also been experimenting with KY 50/50 and 6006 and let me tell ya the headaches are a lot less now. BTW KY also makes a 70/30 which is less expensive then GL! HTH