Candle making lingo?

Hi,

I just joined your great forum. I came to this site yesterday smack dab in the middle of my first candle making. Thank goodness it was here. I had the wax melted and ready to poor and I couldnt keep the wick fastened to the container. The glue gun worked great. First of all, I made my first two container candles and two molded candles. I used a container wax I located at a candle place in town. (I dont know what it is made out of). I added 1.5 fragrance. I then used a combination of 3/4 parafin and 1/4 beeswax and 1 oz of fragrance on the molded candles. The molded ones are burning okay. My problem is the container ones arent burning well. I used prewaxed wicks ex large 22.8 cm and the flame is so little. It is not melting the whole surface. I can see from what people have written that there is a lot of experimenting going on, but it is hard for me to understand the lingo. I can make soap like you wouldnt believe, but this is my first attempt at candlemaking. (I love challenges!!) Is it the wick, the amount of fragrance or the wax? thanks (I used a 22 oz container, I think)

I just wanted to say hello and welcome. Also, if you have questions, feel free to pm me. I felt lost at first too. I am by NO means an expert, but you WILL find some experts on here. Check out the section at the top of the forums, that has candle making questions in it. I can't remember the name offhand. It is an AMAZING forum.

Without knowing what wax it is, I don't know how to help you.

Also, what fragrance is it?

And for the wicking, I am not familiar with that kind, so you may have to have someone else help you there. You will get it figured out though. You have come to a great place.

ETA: It's just called, Candlemaking