I've been thinking about trying pillars...

and now that I've looked at all the pics I definately want to try some rustic ones! Up til now I've only done jars, votives and tarts.

I've read good things about the 1343A and thought I'd try that first. Now, can someone explain to me how to get the rustic effect? Pretty Please!:rolleyes2

This is my first time posting here, but I've lurked and there seems to be alot of good info and nice people here!

Thanks!:)

Tamilea

In brief, add 3 tablespoons of stearic acid per lb of wax. Heat until the stearic is melted. Cool to 180. Add 1 ounce of FO per lb. of wax. Drain some into a pour pot and color it. Cool to 150 degrees. Pour into mold. Slosh around with your hand; make sure to splash upwards.

Wait about 20-30 minutes for a skin to form. The wax underneath will still jiggle around. Pour the next layer at 150. Wait some more. Continue until the mold is full. Wait 30-60 minutes for the last layer to start to set up.

Pour 4 deep relief holes and walk away. When the wax has cooled completely, heat your repour wax to 180 degrees. Fill in the cavities with the wax until level at the top. Unmold when completely cold.

Just wait 'til you see the long version.... Coming soon LOL!

e

Eugenia. you explained that method about as well as any I've seen. I've been struggling to make the PERFECT rustic and altho they aren't at the momment I think I'm getting close. I use wax #4625 so it works a little differently than yours. Unfortunately, I can't get 1343 here in Canada. MY difference is I pour at 145 as opposed to your 150.

Tamilea: