Heat gun issues?

Ok, so I poured these candles using EcoSoya CB, various CD's and Premier wicks for testing, and using creamy vanilla from Lone Star and spiced cranberry from Bittercreek. I had some issues with the tops of the candles that was discussed in the Candle Tops thread I started.

Well........I zapped them with the heat gun and holy crap. The frosting exploded and I developed wet huge wet spots that weren't there before!! But hey, the tops look good, lol. Anyone else have problems like these after using the heat gun?

Thanks for everyones help too, I need it lol:laugh2: !

DSCN1019.jpg

DSCN1020.jpg

DSCN1021.jpg

Bill,

I wouldn't worry about frosting or wet spots since it doesn't affect the candle, burn or throw. Plus you can really drive yourself nuts over this so why go there. The way the candle burns and throws is what is important to the customers. Just educate them about soy and things will be alright. ;)

I am new to soy candles I have mostly worked with canes I don't sell my soys yet because I have to much testing to do yet. maybe I shouldn't really be posting because I am so new but I have had the same problem and I can tell you what I did (not sure if it's ok but it worked and might upset some people for doing this but here goes) On the first one when mine look like that I either set it in a pan of hot water to remelt the outside of the candle then let it set and cool slowly, or I have just heat gunned it to remelt the outside. On the second one I am not real sure but looking at the pic it looks like part of it has seperated from the jar and some hasn't, if it hasn't been more than a day or two since you poured it you can set it in the fridge for 5 minutes and maybe a few minutes more if you have to (it will continue to seperate after being removed from fridge) and usually the rest will pull away from the glass and it will look very uniform and actually very nice HTH

Donna