Shea Butter and hair?

SheilaW

In the past just about every time I read anything about using shea in your hair as a moisturizer it has been unanimous in saying that NO shea is NOT good for your hair. Well, now VS has a line of hair products touting the benefits of how good a conditioner shea is. My daughter-in-law is a VS and B&BW junkie and it's only been recent that she has become interested in wanting any of my " homemade " stuff since she has noticed that the oils and butters I have been using for several years are now becoming popular in brand name products. ( shea being a good example ). So what do any of you know about using shea in hair products??

First, is it shea butter or shea oil. Might make a difference. I know that when I work with coconut or other oils like tthat my hair is happy (yes, I get it on my hands, I touch my hair - tiny amounts transfer. When I work with shea my hair is NOT happy - it is sticky!

I guess you could use it in small amounts.

An ingredient list might be interesting...

I put a small amount of shea butter in my shampoo bars. So far all my testing has been very successful. I also put coconut oil, castor, sunflower and palm. I am trying to work palm out of my soap recipes but still do put it in my shampoo bars. I've been using my shampoo bars now for a few months and my hair feels great. Also, my testers report that their hair feels wonderful too and some have eliminated conditioner all together. I never really used it in the first place. MsDammit is testing one of them for me too. Maybe she'll chime and tell you what she thinks of them. I think, at least, shea is great in shampoo bars.

I use sodium hydroxide which is the lye you use to make solid soap. The potasium hydroxide is the one used to make liquid soaps. My shampoo bars are solid bars just like regular soap. To make sure I keep them separate from my regular bath bars, I make my shampoo bars in round molds. I use 5% shea compared to the CO and Castor which I use at 20%.