Hello...first post here, and a question...

Hey everyone. I enjoyed reading through pages and pages of the posts here. I learned a lot from the discussions. But I didn't see many discussions on color. I'm new to this, and I have no idea how to make the different colors. For example, I want to make a garnet color, but I don't know what colors combine to make garnet. Is there an easy way to tell what you need to put together to get certain colors? I thought I'd give it a shot so I used red and brown, but it came out kinda orangish. I searched on the net for information, but didn't find much.

So, how do y'all know which colors combine to make other colors?

Thanks so much!

:D They do make a color wheel. Only thing is that some of the waxes are more opaque while some are more transulscent, so your colors may be a little off. What some people do is add your colors a little at a time, until you get what you think is close, then put it on a white paperplate or a little dixie cup and cool it. I usually do mine in the freezer. That will give you a good idea of what your color is going to be. Then you can add additional color as necessary. For the garnet color you are trying to get, I would try adding a little black to your red, that will deepen it. Really, alot of it for me is guessing, and trial and error. It took me forever to get a nice red in my soy.

p.s. Welcome to the board:D

I think you might have been on the right track with the red & brown combination. Perhaps you just didn't have the right brown. There are many, many browns. Try a brown that is less orange based. Some browns are pinkish at very dilluted levels, this tone may work better. You may find a tiny bit of blue is needed also. Hope this helps.

Cheers

Janette