464 Soy Wax for summer weather

Fahmighazel

Hi All!

First of all, hope you all are doing great despite the pandemic! 

It's my first time here on this platform and I have a list of questions with regards to candle making, using 464 Soy Wax in hot & humid weather.

I'm from Singapore and the country is located near the equator and has a typically tropical climate all year round. In addition to the tropical climate, Singapore has high humidity as well.

I have been experimenting with candles for 6 months now (still experimenting) & recently decided to work with 464 due to the excellent HT, as described by the company i purchased the wax from. 

Through testing, I noticed the following:

1) The HT isn't great. I used 10% fragrance load & I bought the scents from Candle Science

2) The wax is extremely soft, even after curing it for 1 week

3) The wax looks horrible after each burn, leaving the top look like planet mars

Measures I have taken to make my candles:

1) Given the humid weather, I turned the AC to cool the room temperature

2) I burn the wax up to 185F, add the fragrance oil immediately and then pour the wax into my container jars at 150F to obtain smooth tops 

3) I add 10% pure coconut wax to help increase the HT, but i read some forum stating that coconut wax will make the wax softer than before

4) I cleaned the jars beforehand to ensure that the wax adheres to the glass (it works!)

Questions:

1) Given that i live in a hot & humid weather, should i add additives such as stearic acid to make the wax a little bit harder? I heard adding stearic acid will decrease the HT :( Please advise if this is indeed true!

2) Do you recommend using 444 soy wax as i heard that it's a better option for summer weather?

3) Lastly, are there any methods to ensure that the 464 soy wax candle looks good after burning? 

Thank you in advance people & stay safe!