Need help with BCN lip balm base

lauramw71

Ok, this is my first time making this. I just got a 1lb tub of this yesterday and I'm kind of at a loss. I don't want to make a whole lb of it, just a few to test out.. maybe 10 or so? I'm not quite sure where to start. Do I melt the whole tub down and than measure out what I want? Or do I just scoop some chunks out and measure before melting? I can't wait to try this out!! :)

Oh, and is 3% flavor oil pretty standard or is this too strong?

Thanks for any help, tips and pointers anyone can give me!

Laura

Figure out how much you want to make, then scoop out and weigh until you get what you need. You don't want to have to melt down the whole tub every time - big pain! As for flavor, each one is different. Se what the manufacturer's recommendation is for your flavor. I like to start with 1%, and go up from there. Happy crafting!

Oh my.. I made these for the first time tonight. They get hard FAST! I had to keep reheating it up and some of it was cooling as soon as it got in the tube. I melted it and it had already started cooling down before I got the flavor oil mixed in. Wow! What am I doing wrong? Will the reheating be a problem? I made a tiny batch. .73 oz of the base. I only wanted to make 5 tubes. Is it impossible to make small batches like this? What's the best way to keep it warm while filling? I used a small dixie cup to fill the tubes with. That part worked great... But what I used of it is fantastic! I'm very excited about this base!

thanks for the help!

Laura

Yup, electric candle warmers FTW. They keep it liquid while pouring. I usually mirco in a pyrex measuring cup, then pour into my little measuring glass on the warming plate. Works while I pipette the balms into tubes.

I find that I lose some volume when I melt and pour so if I wanted 5 balms I'd weigh out an ounce (gives me 5-6 balms).

Definitely check the manufacturers info before using FOs. Some max at 1% and anything above that tastes awful.