How do you decide on FO?

I am new to candle making and hope to get some guidance on choosing FOs before I spend all my savings experimenting! I realize the FOs are highly concentrated, but how do you know if they will smell good both hot and cold in a candle? I have seven FOs from Peak, and they all are so strong and sweet OOB, they give me a headache. I poured a couple container candles last night using IGI 4630 and Cranberry Citrus: one pound of wax and 3/4 oz of FO. I expected the fragrance to be really strong during the melting/pouring process. Problem is, more than 12 hours later, the candles still smell super sickly strong to me, and I haven't even tried burning them yet.

It could be the FOs I have just don't appeal to me, but since I have to order online, I am hesitant to purchase more FOs. The ones I have are scents I tend to choose when buying candles (fruity, spicy, etc.), so I am not sure why I'm having a hard time with the seven Peak FOs I have now.

Thanks for any insight you can provide.

We have a Fragrance Discussion forum on the board that might help you decide what to try, but 90% of the proof is in the pudding. You have to try it in your candle to see how you like it, how it burns, and how strong it is. Often you will have to make adjustments to the amount of fragrance and the wicking of the candle to make it ideal. If 3/4 oz is too strong for you then use less. For the time being, try those testers you made to see how they burn and how the hot throw is.

Spending all your savings is the nature of the hobby, and you might want to take that into consideration. I'm not really joking. :)

Edited by topofmurrayhill