Minimum Amount of Wax?

jeni18

Hi there, I hope this isn't a question that's been answered 100 times but I've searched and searched and can't find it anywhere. I am very new to candle making (one batch so far), and as I am still in the experimental phase would like to conserve wax. I am using GB 464. I would like to know if you need to use a minimum of 1 lb. of wax per batch or are there any risks in using a smaller amount, say 1/2 or 3/4 lb.?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I apologize if this has been answered dozens of times already!

Jennifer

Hi Jennifer. Welcome to the board.

The main risk is that the weighing of ingredients gets less accurate with smaller quantities.

Let's say for example your scale reads in increments of 1/10 ounce (0.1 oz) and you want to use 1 oz FO per 1 lb of wax:

• For 1 lb wax you weigh out 1.0 oz FO on your scale. That means the actual weight is between 0.9 and 1.1 oz, which is +/- 10% error.

• For 1/2 lb wax you weigh out 0.5 oz FO. That means the weight is between 0.4 and 0.6 oz, which is +/- 20% error.

So, the ability to make small batches accurately depends on the readability of your scale. The better your scale, the smaller the batch you can make.

Edited by topofmurrayhill

Many scales do not measure parts of grams, but they DO measure parts of ounces. I don't think that, unless one is making a minute amount of candle wax, that the error + or - between using grams and ounces to measure FO is gonna make enough difference to quibble about. I think this would be far more critical when making cosmetics or soap, but not candles.

Sorry, but I'm not getting a triple beam scale to make candles! I don't think that level of exactitude is necessary to making a successful, high quality candle.

Jeni, I personally do not make less than 1 pound batches for the reasons Top mentioned to you earlier. A slight miscalculation in a larger quantity is less critical than in a small batch.

Edited by Stella1952