Scent Throw issues

Hi everybody!!!

Look out! Newbie here!!!! LOL :)

I've started making candles as a hobby, its always something I've wanted to try and so far I'm having WAY too much fun I think. :yay: But, I really like a candle with GREAT scent throw and so far I haven't been that impressed with my work.

I'm looking for suggestions on things I could adjust to increase my scent throw.

I'm using Eco Soya CB Advanced, which so far I like the way it looks, its user friendly (have yet to need to do a 2nd pore), minimal wet spots, frosting, etc. But the scent throw isn't amazing.

The first candles I made were cured only 24 hrs before my husband jumped the gun and lit them! LOL I've been adding FO at about 150 and pouring at 115... All the other candles I've poured have been curing for about a week and the cold throw isn't much either.

Right now I'm sticking to 6% FO, using paper core wicks that I got as a sample pack from Candles & Supplies. The paper core wicks have been good (hardly any shrooming), but I have noticed a few posts saying that the wick can indeed affect the scent throw.

I've kind of been a lurker for awhile, kind of afraid to post anything being new to this I didn't want to get flamed right away.

But, what do you think I should try to adjust first? New wick, like a CD or HTP? Different wax? Increase the FO? I read the thread about the coconut oil, I may be running to Wally World this week and see how that works.

Anyways, thanks in advance! Looking forward to getting to know everybody here!

Kandyce

How many different scents did you try? Alot of FO don't throw well in soy.

I don't use your wax, but I would probably try adding FO at a higher temp. It may not be incorporating well at 150.

If it were me, I would try tweaking what you already have before adding CO to the mix. It's just another variable to complicate things, IMO.

As far as wicking goes:

Are you getting a full melt pool when you burn the candles?