Paraffin vs. Palm vs. Soy

I have been creating candles for about 4 months now. I have used 4794 for votives and 4630 for glass containers. Having always been one to burn candles almost daily, I originally started to make them so I would not have to keep buying Yankees. All of my votives burn and smell great and have only made one bad batch (will not use that FO - Color combination again). All of my glass has been 8 oz. so far and also a few tins. Recently here I saw some examples of containers using Glass Glow and wow what a beautiful look. Then I see so many people using Soy. I am so pleased with the results using Paraffin. How many of you started with Paraffin and switched to Palm or Soy or do you all seem to use it all? Very interested to hear your responses. I do recycle and I do not litter but I am not out to save the world one candle at a time. So far all of my candles have been used personally or given as gifts (disguised as testers), however the quality of what I am producing is I believe as good (so my wife and testers tell me) as Yankee.

Thanks, Dave :confused:

Started out with paraffin a decade ago. As some of my customers started asking for soy did my testing and developed that line. I loved the look of palm so I started playing with that also.

So far the paraffin sells the best to my long-time customers. Soy accounts for about 25% of the business. And, since palm containers require extra TLC during production, I only offer them around Christmas.

I actually started out with soy about 10 years ago (came in a 5 lb. pain in the butt bucket then) and used paraffin for my votives & pillars. I switched to my own soy/paraffin blend about 5 years ago, as I like that it gives a strong scent throw and isn't so fussy on what FO with actually throw. :cool2: