FO Weights

This may be a stupid question but Im still learning so I thought I would ask. From what I gather depending on the FO you have to wick up or down. Is there a way to know if a FO is a heavy FO before pouring and testing? For example I poured Pink Sugar in C3 used an 8 oz square mason and wicked it with a CDN 10. It is doing well I think, nice hot throw and is burning even and clean. Now I want to pour cream brulee. Should I stick with the CDN 10 on this one? Hope I am making sense...lol

The Creme Brulee I use, I have to wick up on..

Certain FO's like Vanilla, Spicy Potpourri , Lavender, and the "thicker" oils will need to be wicked up..

My suggestion is, start with the 10 since that is working for your

jar/wax/fo combo and go from there..

If it does not burn right, wick up or down as needed.

Even when you think you can call the wick size from eyeballing the oil, some oils surprise you and are wicker uppers or downers..

You just never know...:wink2:

It's actually the ingredients that make up an FO which makes it a 'heavier' oil, not necessarily the physical thickness. I have a buttercreme that has the consistency of molassas, but wicks with no problems. My patchouli and a couple ambers are physically thinner oils, but take a much larger wicks. You honestly can't tell by the look of the FO. Just test any new oils to your normal wick for the specific jars....then go up or down from there. :cool2:

It's actually the ingredients that make up an FO which makes it a 'heavier' oil, not necessarily the physical thickness. I have a buttercreme that has the consistency of molassas, but wicks with no problems. My patchouli and a couple ambers are physically thinner oils, but take a much larger wicks. You honestly can't tell by the look of the FO. Just test any new oils to your normal wick for the specific jars....then go up or down from there. :cool2:

That is what I was trying to say with my comment below.. But you expained it much better!!!:highfive: