Cargill C-3 Wax

Hi!

I am a newbie to this board, but not to candlemaking. I had the misfortune of having my soy wax discontinued by the Astorlite company. :mad: So, now I am back to the drawing board of trying new waxes to decide what I am going to switch to! :( I was wondering if anyone had tried the Cargill C-3 wax and what did you think about it. Or do you have any suggestions. Any input would be greatly appreciated! :)

TIA,

Beverly :cool:

Hi, I have used the C-3 quite a bit. I'm now looking at some other waxes also. It does get sink holes around the wick even when poured slowly and at a cooler temp. They can be fixed with a heat gun but then you have to deal with frosting. Some times it takes a bit of work to make the tops look nice. It's also unpredictable. Some times it will snow flake like crazy on the sides and some times it won't. Even with the same FO's and dye.

I've used C-3 for a year and like it fine. But then I always do two pours instead of one. It has to cure for at least five days but the scent throw is great.

My customers don't have problems with frosting. I like it! ;)

Actually, I use it as the core of my soy wax since I also add two other waxes to it to expediate the curing process.

Soy is a very unpredictable wax. Because shipping costs are so high, I would try what you can get closest to you and try to make it work for you. I buy mine from KY and pay the shipping, just because I tested several and that is what worked the best for me. Everyone has a wax that works the best for them. If you try the C3 and don't like it, there are many others out there to try.

I cured the sinkhole problem with the c3 by not pouring up to the neck but stopping a little below it. When I used hex jars and poured up to the neck I got sink holes like crazy. Now when I do use the c3 I use wide neck apothecary jars and pour below the neck. Even with 16 oz jars there was no pitting. Try it...it may work for you!