Levelling pillar candles

Hi guys,

I've just 're-started' making paraffin candles after years of using soy and containers.....for the life of me I cant get pillars to be exactly level.

Round pillars I'm having no trouble with but the others are causing me grief. I'm using a flat tray and holding the pillars by the wick to try and level them but they are still not exactly level.

Please HELP...I'm not technical at all...but I think I can buy some levelling tool? I'll need a carpenters type of one (I think) becaue is Aust we cant buy a candle leveler....

Cheers,

Hellen

I'm sure lots of pillar makers have their own technique for levelling their pillars. This is mine:

I use a flat electric grill that I set on warm and place my pillar on that. My grill has a drip tray for the wax. I also place a small levellor on the pillar as I melt the pillar bottom. When I am finished I place on a level surface with the levelor on top to be sure it is level. I repeat if necessary. After a while you get more efficient and can do many pillars in a short time. Mostly it simply takes a bit of practice to get your pillars level.

HTH

Candy

BTW I got my electric grill at WalMart for about $19. Turned out to be a good investment. I also use it to keep my pour pots warm while I am stirring and mixing my candles.

My levellor I bought at a local hardware store-- ACE? for under $20. Its about 6 inches long and lightweight. I love it.

For me, the easiest way to check for a pillar being level is before you take it completely out of the mold. I slide it out until the shallowest edge is at the opening. It shows me exactly what needs trimmed. If it's just a tiny amount I can scrape it off right then, otherwise I mark a ring then trim it off after removing. Most of the time the candles are pretty much level to start with. Use a level and make sure your cooling surface is perfectly even to start with. It's much easier than trimming ;)