New to the game, looking for some advice

Hello everyone :grin2:! My wife and I are looking into making candles...both for fun and for a little extra $$. We were wondering if there are any really nice starter kits that have a lot of 'bang for the buck'. Or...if starter kits are NOT the way to go??...apparently we need some advice. Any good tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Your friendly neighborhood NEWBIES :D

Hi. I'm a newbie too. I just posted a topic on this yesterday. I got the advice that starter kits can be good to get your feet wet and figure out what you want to do. I wanted to make container candles and just ordered a starter kit from Peak. It was about $60 including shipping. Has everything you need except a scale(I'm too new to even know if I need one) I just ordered it today. I'll be back to post how everything goes with my first candle EVER:D

Welcome to the board :)

Decide which type of candles you want to make the most, first, then get a starter kit for them. Definately a good way to get the feel of it.

Just keep in mind, this is a very expensive hobby and often takes a year or two to even break even. If you're looking to make money quick, this probably isn't the way to go. If you're doing it because you love candles, then you have a good chance at making it. Putting the obsessive addiction aside, suppiles aren't cheap, and the testing process burns a lot of those initial supplies up. Then when the addiction hits.... you can just kiss your bank account goodbye :D

I've been making candles for four years now and it's a great hobby. I basically make enough $$ to buy more candle stuff to feed my addiction. :D I love atwixend.com, they have fabulous customer service. They also have great starter kits with thorough instructions (and video) http://www.atwixend.com/category.php?starterkits I primarily make container candles but I enjoy doing votives periodically as well.

Have fun!