Yet another Newbie

DebbiR

I have been reading the posts and replies for several weeks now. I'm pretty new at candlemaking, only been doing it for about 6 or 7 months. I only do this as a hobby for gifts. Expensive gifts at that. Hahaha Anyway, is there a favorite "true" one-pour container wax ya'll might use? The one-pour container wax I ordered is that IG 4??? (can't remember - still getting them confused without looking at it)) but requires a re-pour. Is soy wax a good alternative to pre-blend paraffin?

How can I make different colors using only one presto pot? I use a melting pot in my Presto and fragrance and color in it... so then I'm stuck waiting to finish a batch - and not move on to something else. Anyway - I really enjoy the board and the questions and responses. Thanks... Debbi

Welcome Debbi,

I can't help you with the container wax, but I can give you a tip for using your presto pot. Most of us use our presto pot for melting the wax, but transfer the melted wax to our pouring pots for dyeing and fragrance, that way you can make a whole bunch of different colors and fragrances from only one melt. Make sense??

Welcome to the board Debbi. I like J-50 (Astor wax) for containers. It's a preblend and a true one pour that colors well and has an awsome cold/hot throw. I've never even thought of using soy because I've read too much about the wax being difficult to get a decent throw with alot of FO's. I think you should find a supplier that is closest to you and see what they offer in the way of container waxes~~start with a kit and go from there. Good luck and have fun ;)

Hello and welcome. I can't really help with the wax ?. I can say that I like Nature's Garden Joy wax. Here is a link http://www.naturesgardencandles.com/candlemaking-soap-supplies/item/ckit-7

Most will tell you that the best way to find a wax that you like is to experiment and find what works best for you and your application.