I think I did it backwards

crow

Newbie here! Hello. I think I have gone about candle making backwards. I spent all summer picking up what I thought would be unique containers. I bought a lot of tea cups, old jars, and different antique glass to pour candles in to sell. Then, I started the research to making candles and landed here. I didn't know there was so much involved, like testing waxes, wicks, FO, and dyes. Do you think it would be better for me to start out with standardized containers instead of all the various ones I have?

Only if you want them to burn proper without pulling your hair out ;)

If you're just making them for yourself, it wouldn't be too bad. If you're think longer term and selling, starting with one standard container would be much easier. Testing for just one new one takes long enough :shocked2:

I agree with Ducky.

Also if those items you picked-up came from yard sales they may not be safe to use for candles. They may have crackes or stress marks that you can not see but will cause problems when a candle is burned in them.

Also if you plan on selling, sticking with a standard candle containers will make you look more professional.

Yup - you did it backwards...but don't feel bad. Most of us started out with some bad ideas about how easy it is to make candles. But you're here and reading. That's a good forward step! Welcome to the board and our addiction! :wave:

we might be addicted to smilies, too. :rolleyes2

I agree with the other ladies. I would start out with a standard jar. As you progress and learn about wick, wax, FO, and all the other factors that go into a quality candle, then you could branch out and much more easily be able to wick the containers you spent all summer getting.

Welcome to the board!