Pouring Techniques

I'm wondering if any of you experienced candle makers would share how you pour your candles. I'm still pretty new at this, but I think I may be using an extra step. Currently, I melt my wax in a melting pot, add FO and dye in a separate can and then add the wax to the can. Then I pour the wax from the can into my pre-wicked glass container. I tried pouring directly into the jar, but it's difficult to mix the wax with the scent and dye in the jar without dislodging the wick. If I mix the scent and dye with the wax in the melting pot, then I have to clean the pot every time I change scent/dye. Is there a standard way of doing this or do most have their own preferred way? Thanks, Mike

I pour them from my double broiler type set up, into pyrex glass pouring cups add dye, add FO then pour from there into the jars. That way I can melt a lot of wax but try out different scents at the same time by using several different pyrex glasses. Just how I like to do it for now since I don't make tons of candles at a time.

but it's difficult to mix the wax with the scent and dye in the jar without dislodging the wick. If I mix the scent and dye with the wax in the melting pot, then I have to clean the pot every time I change scent/dye. Mike

Mix your FO & color into your wax before pouring into the container. I don't think the FO will incorporate into your wax very well doing it in the container. The FOs need to be added to the wax at an appropriate temp and mixed well.

Then take papertowels and wipe down the pouring pot while it's still hot. If the pot cools off, you can also heat it up with a heat gun, in the oven or in a pan of hot water and wipe clean..only takes a minute. HTH