I don't think I am picking the right shows to attend

lpoitras

This is my first year, only in the biz since March. Did 12 shows this year. I would say none of them I would return to, maybe 1 or 2 because I like how they were run. The shows were either poorly run or I just didn't do well. I scope out the competition at every show. I don't know whether we are offering too many choices or what it is. Plenty of stopping and sniffing, that is so pretty, yada, yada, yada. I was not too upset because I figured first year is learning year and many vendors would tell me the fall shows are so much better than the spring shows. Well I just came from an Xmas show yesterday that was supposed to be "great", booth space 50 bucks, pretty crowded at least for the first 3-1/2 hours, sold a decent amount then, but the last 3 hours weren't worth staying for. I had 16 scents available on the table, moderately priced items, from $5 to $8 bucks and none higher. Christmas mugs, apothecary jars (10 oz), masons, enamelware mugs and lids (those were a hit), glass tumblers with evergreen etchings, mini loaf double wicked pans, Christmas china sets, wickless and warmers. What am I doing wrong or are these cheaper shows just not worth it? How do you pick a good show if YOU have never done it before? I find word of mouth just isn't cutting it. And can't wait to see if they advertise because then it's too late. Okay, let me have it.

Sounds about typical for a first year. And the second. My first shows I think I cleared $50/day. There are so many variables into what goes into a good show. How the table is presented, how much you chit-chatted with customers, what catches the customers eyes. This year I've found they seem to like to talk more, have you explain how you make things (of course in general terms), like little usage tips, like to have "stories" told to them. They were after "unique" and not something they could find on a TJMaxx or Walmart shelf. Your stuff *sounds* cute.