Help! 444 and 464 Questions

:o Hello Everyone,

I have not posted here in a very long time although I have been making candles for many years.

I am needing to change from J223/Soy blend to a different wax and am considering the 444 and 464 as a complete replacement.

How are these waxes doing? Has anyone tried them both and can they compare? I prefer a one pour.

I appreciate your responses. BTW, Peak is my closest supplier.

Thanks in advance

There are alot of threads in this section on these two waxes that you can read where folks posted their results. I tested the 444 and no matter what temp I poured at, I got lots of airpockets and sink holes. I could fix it by poking relief holes and zapping with the heat gun but that was too time consuming to me. I wasn't impressed with the cold throw either.

There are alot of threads in this section on these two waxes that you can read where folks posted their results. I tested the 444 and no matter what temp I poured at, I got lots of airpockets and sink holes. I could fix it by poking relief holes and zapping with the heat gun but that was too time consuming to me. I wasn't impressed with the cold throw either.

Meridith:

Have you tried the reformulated 444 wax? It sets up alot better and the cold throw has improved immensely. Soycandle.com is carrying the reformulated 444 wax, if you want to give it a try.

Personally, I was not impressed with the 464. Half way through burning the candle, the scent throw was minimal to none. I know others have had good luck with the 464, I didn't. Just my opinion. HTH

I tried the old formulations and liked the 464 better but still wasn't what I was looking for. I've got the new formulations of both waxes coming so there is still hope :D I've done a lot of searches on both waxes and found pretty good reviews. Not sure how recent they are though but would be nice to hear some updates!