Oil seeping from CP?

KMommy

I am new to this, only my second batch of CP. I made a small 2lb batch and used 2oz of FO. I noticed that when I added the FO it didn't seem to blend well with the soap but it didn't seep to the top right away. I covered the soap with plastic wrap on top of the mold but not touching the soap. After 24 hours in the mold there was oil seeping from the soap. When I pressed down with my thumb more oil would rise. Also, the top of the soap is very rough and bumpy(this also happened with the first CP batch I made) I did cut the soap and I cut the tops off of each bar to remove the ugly portion. My questions are...with 1oz FO used per pound should this have happened(oil seeping), what is causing the rough ugly tops on my soap, will the oil eventually be be absorb by the soap?

Ah, I bet that is the problem! It was a 2lb batch so I added 1oz for each pound of total weight. I was looking over the recipes I have and I noticed that most either just state "add FO" no specific amounts given or "1oz per pound" I just assumed it was total weight. Thanks for pointing that out to me! I'll try another batch and see if that takes care of the problem. It's tough being a newbie with alot of question. I appreciate you guys help!

It is the per pound of oils. Not the per pound of total batch weight. With that much fo in the batch it may have caused problems with your tops.

When you refer to batch weight, as in what the mold hold, it's lbs. of oils. For example, if I go to Sooz and say a want a 2 lb. batch, 50% coconut, 50% lard, it will tell me one lb. of each. Batch weight and lbs. of oils are the same thing.