UV Inhibitor Testing

Hi Community,

I am a newbie in this candle making and would love some suggestions on UV inhibitors.

1. I found few sellers in my country (India) those who are providing UV stabilizers 292, I am not sure if that can be used in candles. But would love your point of view.

2. Also, how can we test if the UV stabilizers are working or not, because through traditional testing like keeping the candles on UV exposure for a long time will be a time consuming work.

Please shed some insight on UV stabilizer testing as well.

Appreciate your thoughts in advance.

Thanks.

I know this isn't going to be a popular post, but I don't like working with UV inhibitors.  I'm not sure if the one (292) is suitable for candles or not, but when I looked it up, I did see some notes about it that makes me uncomfortable.  For crafters using natural waxes, I'm not sure about this as an additive due to the nature of the substance.  I don't know much about it, but every time I go out to read something about it, I end up reading a lot of hazard warnings.

May cause an allergic skin reaction [Warning Sensitization, Skin]
Suspected of damaging fertility or the unborn child [Warning Reproductive toxicity]
Very toxic to aquatic life [Warning Hazardous to the aquatic environment, acute hazard]
Very toxic to aquatic life with long lasting effects [Warning Hazardous to the aquatic environment, long-term hazard]
Hazardous to the aquatic environment, acute hazard

(source)

When reading hazard warnings, it is very helpful to know the “doses”. “It’s not the poison, it’s the dose” comes to mind.  In that vein, is the hazard for ingesting it, or is the hazard snorting pounds of it raw 24/7?

Have you read the hazard warnings for water?

I’m  not blowing off any potential dangers as much as I am questioning the wording of hazard warnings.  Places like Environmental working group post foreboding warnings, then promote the products that contain those very ingredients.