Joy wax to Soy wax (464) HELP!

Hi there! I have been making candles for a couple of years now but just switched wax. I started with Joy Wax and never really had a problem, but my last batch was useless! I didn't change wicks, containers, or even FOs and I get absolutely no hot throw and hardly any cold throw. The one thing that did change was that I started using a SoyLite wax melter. I've always used the double broiler method in the past but this seemed so much more convenient. I am wondering if temperature inconsistencies may have affected the ability to get any scent throw...? Has anyone ran into this before? 

Also, I ordered some 464, thinking it was an issue with the Joy wax, but now I have 2 problems. 1) the soy candles look TERRIBLE and 2) amazing cold throw with ZERO hot throw... I just spent hundreds of dollars on useless candles and I have no idea what to do. I'm about ready to give up :( Any advice?

I didn’t. I made all of my orders at once (making one test candle for each scent) and when I went to light the testers (3 days later), all but 1 had no hot throw whatsoever. The 1 that actually had scent was the first one I made in the bunch. I’m now out of that batch of wax so I can’t really test any more. I guess I’m just nervous to try joy wax again at this point. 

As for the 464, I was soooo excited because the cold throw was phenomenal (despite looking awful) but after a 7 day cure, no hot throw at all. I can go back to the double broiler method, it’s just sooooo time consuming. 

On 4/3/2020 at 12:08 PM, jbullock89 said: