6006 hardly any cold throw

I am fairly new to using 6006 and I can hardly get a good cold throw. I heat the wax until about 180 to 185 then add 9 percent FO and dye then stir I pour about 170. I use 8 oz jelly jars with a CD 10 wick. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong I just cant get a good cold throw. I can get a decent hot throw after I let it cure for a couple days 

1 hour ago, Roblop239 said:

I am fairly new to using 6006 and I can hardly get a good cold throw. I heat the wax until about 180 to 185 then add 9 percent FO and dye then stir I pour about 170. I use 8 oz jelly jars with a CD 10 wick. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong I just cant get a good cold throw. I can get a decent hot throw after I let it cure for a couple days 

A few questions. Do the jars have lids? Did you stir the wax well after adding the FO? Have you asked other people to smell the candle?

Two observations. 9% seems like a high FO load and a CD 10 seems like a large wick for an 8oz jar. If your candle is burning properly then that’s great. But if you have soot issues, or your MP is too deep I would suggest trying 7% and/or a smaller wick.  

• Like 1

39 minutes ago, Roblop239 said:

Yes they have lids and I stir the wax for about 1 minute 

That is curious. I find it takes several days for my CT to get strong. Exposure to the fragrance makes it harder to smell so I always wait at least three days before I open the lid and check the CT. For 6006 I always stir the wax before adding the FO, while I'm adding the FO, then two minutes more, and stir again just before I pour. That may be a little excessive, but once I made a batch of candles that I only stirred for 30 seconds and they had no CT or HT.

• Like 1