New here: questions about coconut/soy and or beeswax blends

Peggy T

I've just found this forum. Yay! I have been making candles for about 5+ years.  I have a soap and candle company and try to use only plant products (and no palm) but it can be challenging. I make a wood wick soy & coconut wax candle which is lovely but prone to being finicky (weak flame if you don't trim, sometimes leaves wax residue on the sides of the jar). I use 95% 464 with 5% coconut 83, wood wick (3" ssj with a  1/2" .04 booster wick from WWC) and 12% (!) FO. Previously I used a lower % FO but the HT was weak. I kind of have a love/hate relationship with wood wicks and the Wooden Wick Co. They're so expensive (both the wicks and the company, in general) but my customers like them a lot. I've found that I have to be pretty scrupulous about trimming the wick, otherwise, the flame tends to get weak.

Now I'm in the process of creating a new candle and am thinking I should use this opportunity to rethink the whole process. I'd love to come up with something that's a bit more consistent, with good HT. I would be happy to stop using 464 but I have 200# sitting around and live near The Flaming Candle so it's tempting to stay with a supplier where you don't have to pay for shipping. 😎 I've been reading here and online about different coconut wax options. I have to admit,  I'm totally confused by the whole coconut wax shortage AND the fact that suppliers are not super clear about what they blend their coconut with. The lack of complete information about blending coconut makes it really hard to compare apples to apples, as I try to come up with a good wax blend. I've been getting my coconut wax from Cal Candle but the shipping is super high since I'm on the east coast. I'm mulling over some different wax ratios and would be grateful for any feedback.