Two little problems

(1) I poured a container with CB-Soy for the first time today. It's curing now, and I've noticed there is a strange, large sinkhole forming around the perimeter of the candle. It's not like the 'funnel' you get when you need to make a repour on certain types of wicks. It's got a jagged edge; almost like a baby punched the inside of the candle. Any idea what that could be?

(2) I'm having a little problem with my dye separating, which is really weird! The dye doesn't seem to be blending well with the wax. I'm using dye chips and I'm wondering if I should switch to liquid dye for better blending. What's odd is that this just started happening, so I think I'm doing something wrong (adding the dye at the wrong time perhaps). Any suggestions?

By the way, I'm a newbie so please excuse me if these questions are really elementary or obvious. Be gentle with me.:yes:

Welcome to the board :)

I know very little of soy so I can't help, but you might get a better response if you post this over on the veggie section...

Thank you. I should have specified that problem #1 applies to Soy, but problem #2 applies to Paraffin. So I just posted it here.:)

Regarding # 2. Just wondering at what temperature you're adding the dye chips as that MAY be having an effect. Also, what ratio of chips to wax are you using, eg. 1 chip to 1 lb of wax? My thought is that maybe you are adding more dye than the wax can take. These are purely guesses as I haven't experienced this problem myself and hopefully someone else will chip in (pardon the pun) with something less nebulous to answer your question.

(2) I'm having a little problem with my dye separating, which is really weird! The dye doesn't seem to be blending well with the wax. I'm using dye chips and I'm wondering if I should switch to liquid dye for better blending.