Pour Temp for 6006

For those of you who use 6006, what temp do you pour around when pouring into the 16 oz apothecary jar? I poured around 175, but still had to heat gun the top to smooth it out after it solidified. One candle had a big hole under the surface. Should I pour cooler?

For those of you who use 6006, what temp do you pour around when pouring into the 16 oz apothecary jar? I poured around 175, but still had to heat gun the top to smooth it out after it solidified. One candle had a big hole under the surface. Should I pour cooler?

I forgot to add: after I pour them I put them in the oven, uncovered, overnight so they cool slowly. 

I hope this is helpful.

Guest OldGlory

Hi Grani, 6006 can be tempermental. I've been using this wax for at least 5 years for a wholesale client.

Whether I add soy or not, whether the ambient temperature in my house is warm or cold, and regardless of the temperature at which I pour, I will still get sink holes in some of my smaller jars. I finally gave up trying to avoid the sink holes and started doing a second pour. It is so much easier and less time consuming to just set aside a small amount of wax and repour the smaller jars. When there is a hole in the surface I also poke relief holes to make sure my repour doesn't also develop a hole. Never had a hint of a sink hole problem in my larger jars.

When you say that you smooth out the surface you must be referring to a dip in the surface instead of a rough surface like you can get with soy. A dip can be easily fixed with a repour as well.

Thanks a lot. I will experiment with all the options - I have a question tho -- So as far as process goes - Chuck, with your process, I would add the FO at a higher temp? I just have the fear of the FO Burning off. I am experimenting all FO's so far at around 6%. -