Igi 4636 j50

Hi everyone,

I am looking for some advice please. I am in the uk and our candle making supplies are nowhere near as good as yours. We only really get 1 brand of paraffin and the Eco soy waxes.

I use paraffin but am just not happy with my candles. I have been making candles for about 6 months so far and have still not got them right, so I am going to be ordering my wax from bitter creek north, shipping is quite expensive but wax here is quite expensive so it evens the cost out.

Anyway I want to make container candles and was looking at the j50, can anyone tell me if this is an easy wax to work with? What's the hot throw like? Does it need a long cure?Also is there other waxes from igi that might be suitable? Like better hot throw?

Any help much appreciated xx

Hello, Joanne

If you want to stick with IGI waxes, you'll have so many different opinions, it'll make your head spin, lol

The IGI 4627 (the very sticky, vaseline-like wax) is supposed to have great HT; I never had much luck with it and messy-me always ended up with wax on my hands, countertops, etc. etc.

The IGI waxes that give me consistently good results are the 4786 and the 4633; the 4630 is also very good. If you want a good parasoy, try the IGI 6006 (I think it's a 70/30). Personally I really love the CBL waxes, but they're not IGI and are available from Candlewic only. HTH and GL :smiley2:

Oh, and after all this spiel, to answer your question: sorry, never tried the waxes you mention, no idea what they're like, how well they throw. But remember that HT isn't strictly a wax thing!

Edited by Ravens
typo