Unintended Bubbles in Pillar

tlc

I poured this pillar over the weekend. I ended up with lots of bubbles in the wax (wasn't planed). I used 1274 wax mottling wax and I tried some polyboost to see if I could stop the seepage. I didn't add any stearic this time and I went down to 4% fo load. I did have a tiny bit of seepage when I took it out of the mold that went away after a few house. The yellow candle's that KrazyKelly's inspired me to make something nice and bright. I've never made a yellow candle before so it was kind of fun.

Do you think the polyboost 150 caused the bubbles? I'm thinking yes.

02_5_2012011.jpg

02_5_2012010.jpg

I've been using Poly150 for several years and have never had a problem with it. Using it in 1274 I get a full/complete mottle. I stay in the range of 5% FO load. My pouring temps are usually around 175-180* if I'm going for mottle, and 160* if I want rustic.

From the pics, it looks like you got only a partial mottle & I have no clue as to why. What was your pouring temp and how much P-150 did you use?

What was your pouring temp and how much P-150 did you use?

I was going for a mottle. I poured at 180*F. I will have to check on the Polyboost.....

Ok, I just figured out what I may have done wrong. When you asked me Pam now much Polyboost I used I couldn't remember forsure so I looked on the website where I purchased it thinking that would ring a bell. Well it sure did. I put in 1 Tablespoon pp of wax and the website said to use 1 Teaspoon! Jeepers, I must have gave the poor wax an overdose. :embarasse *faint* I've never been known to be the sharpest tac in the box LOL.

Edited by tlc

A couple of questions for you. Did you pour fast? Did it cool rapidly? Reason I say is because it looks like some mottling tried to occur, but the bubbles look like trapped air.