Making a castile soap

Candybee

Just made an olive oil soap with 10% castor oil and no dyes or scents. This is only my second batch of CP soap I ever made and just like the first this one also came to trace after 1-2 minutes with my stick blender. I am just doing short bursts with the stick blender, about 20-30 seconds each, then stirring with a spoon the rest of the time.

I thought high olive oil soaps took a long time to trace?!! Am I doing something wrong? It looks fine but then I'm no expert. It had a medium thick pudding texture when I poured it into the mold. This is only my second batch of CP soap. I'm using a Hamilton Beach 2 speed with a 225 watt motor.

Ran this through the soap calc then double checked with MMS calc:

20 oz olive oil

2 oz castor oil

water 7.26 oz

lye 2.75 oz

(superfat @ 7%)

Oils were at 108 degrees F and lye water was 100 degrees F.

Just wondering if the trace was too fast? Or is this normal when using stick blenders?

Something to think about....

Soapbuddy posted about adulterated Olive oil on another forum. I copied it here:

Here is an excerpt from SLO newspaper. See how many failed to be 100% pure olive oil.

IMPORTED OLIVE OILS:

Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Two out of three samples failed.

Bertolli Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Three of three samples failed.

Pompeian Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Three of three samples failed.

Colavita Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Two of three samples failed.

Star Extra Virgin Olive Oil: One of three samples failed.

Carapelli Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Three of three samples failed.

Newman's Own Organics Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Two of three samples failed.

Mezzetta Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Three of three samples failed.

Mazola Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Three of three samples failed.

Rachael Ray Extra Tasty Extra Virgin Olive Oil: Two of three samples failed.

Kirkland Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil: All samples passed.

Great Value 100 percent Extra Virgin Olive Oil: One of three samples failed.