KY Parasoy for tarts/ FO oils?

Spellkast

Hi! I'm really new to this "tart" making thing. My friend gave me a bag of some KY parasoy she had, and some Just Scent & Aroma Haven oils. I've read through this forum, and I see a lot of you use KY. I am NOT getting the great results you all are talking about. :( I heat the wax to 185 (like a few suggested on this board,) add the FO (10%!!), and pour in to my molds. I've let them cure for a week, and yet the cold throw is very weak, and the hot throw is just a joke. I can smell a couple of the oils for maybe an hour tops...and some of the lighter scents I can barely smell at all. Could it be the oils? Are these two suppliers not that great, perhaps? Do they have weak oils? Are there any companies out there that have "knock your socks off" powerful scents that I can try to compare?

I also ordered IGI 4786, and EcoSoy Pillar Blend to try and see if they have any better results. I know some waxes work for some people while others do not (how that is, though, I'll never know!!) :) Any thoughts, though? Am I doing something wrong, or should I just move on to something that performs better...??

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

Let's see- from Just Scent, I've tried:

Vanilla bean noel

dirty dancing

wild orchid & vanilla

apple mango tango

pumpkin & vanilla

flip flops

coppertone (which, by the way, smells NOTHING like suntan lotion to me!)

Kitchen spice (again, nothing like BBW's old scent)

Nutmeg spice

And from Rustic Escentuals, I tried:

Oatmeal Milk & Honey

Creamy Nutmeg

Grandma's kitchen

Carrot Cake

Midnight Pomegranate

I figured they'd all be pretty strong scents, as opposed to soft, light scents...but I guess I was wrong!

I use ParaSoy and I have a great hot throw.

I go by Rustic Escentual's directions:

Directions: Heat to approx 165°, add color and candle scent, stir constantly for two minutes, then pour into clamshells, foil cups or molds. Pour temperature should be around 155°-160°.