Need Lip Balm Recipe Help

SweetPatoot

I want to try and mimic some lip balm I bought, but I need to know percentages of ingredients...

here's the ingredients:

Olive Oil

Beeswax

Vitamin E Oil

Flavoring

I'm new to mixing my own lip balms and just need to know approx what amounts to add to make a firm lip balm. I'm going to be packaging in tins.

thanks so much!!

Rebecca

• 3 years later...

I learnt on a very simple recipe of:

5g cocoa butter

5g beeswax

18g oil (any vegetable kind)

Makes about 4x10g pots.

It's a nice recipe, but may not work with all flavourings. I usually add mica powders for a bit of shimmer & colour, a flavour of some kind and liquid stevia for sweetness.

For your recipe, I would use mostly olive oil and not much vitamin E - that's usually added in small quantities (5-10%) as an antioxidant.

You will probably need 20% wax to make this firm enough, since you are not using a hard butter - why not experiment with these quantities and see how it goes?

Well you could try something like:

75% beeswax

24% olive oil

1 % Vit E

Flavor ... hard to make a certain % for that since they vary so much in strength.

Make a small batch and vary your beeswax and OO amounts. To give it enough strength to hold up in tubes (guessing that's what you're planning to use), you'll need more beeswax than the oils.

• 2 weeks later...

Maybe 1/2 bees wax and 1/2 OO. Depending on how much your making use part of a vit e capsule. And flavoring will depend on what it is. Some places make sweeten flavor for lip balms or just a drop of EO mint might do. Sounds simple and nice. Maybe start with 1 oz each see how it feels and up either as needed.

• 1 month later...
Guest Ox_B_love