Batches 6 & 7

Stella1952

I gt some PKO & Castor Oil and made two batches Tuesday. The first batch, I divided into unscented (green swirl) and scented (peppermint & eucalyptus). The second batch I made CP (eggplant swirl) and scented oak moss & amber from CS.

Soap_Batch_67_2.jpg

The white patches/spots in the HPCP soaps... they do not seem to be "zappy" and I think they were stuff I scraped off the inside of the crock pot. Is this a reasonable assumption?

As this is my first time using castor oil, is it normal for it to be kinda translucent and have a consistency of overcooked Gummy Bears? It is very warm here, high humidity with no relief in sight. I have it curing in my oven with a fan blowing on it. Sound reasonable? Will it ever harden?

Thanks for lookin' & your comments. :wink2:

Looks great! Those are both good assumptions, I only do HP but I get those hard chunky bits of soap from the sides also, I try to keep them from getting into the soap but sometimes they get past me. I also use castor oil my soaps and yes it has the consistency of think syrup.

Isbennis, to clarify my question about castor oil: I was referring to the soap made from it and not the oil itself. The soap feels sticky, as in glue-like. I've read that castor oil is kinda "different," so I was wondering if the gummy, gluey consistency of the soap is normal and if it will harden properly (eventually).

Whew! Glad to hear that the white patches aren't harmful - just unsightly. Actually, they don't bother me too much in their appearance - just wanted to be sure they weren't something bad...

Thanks for your kind words, dnj. I don't really know what the heck I'm doing making soap, but I'm having a blast anyway.