Introduction and heat gun question

Despite posting a few times in recent months, I realized I never actually introduced myself so if y'all will please forgive me....I have been making candles and tarts for several years now but only recently started selling. Nothing big or fancy, just large and small mason jar candles and wax tarts, but my customers seem to love them. That makes me happy! :yay: I am a single mom and full-time college student (psychology) who loves making candles and producing a great product for friends and family. I absolutely love this board and would like to thank all of you for providing me with much of the information I have needed during my candle making experience.

I do have one quick question....no matter what I do, I always have sink holes after my candles cool (after trying different things, to no avail, I have learned to accept my sink holes as part of my candle making process). So...in order to get rid of them, I have always saved a little wax from the original pour and once the candle completely cools, I remelt the leftover wax and top off the candle for a nice smooth finish. However, if I am pouring several different fragrances, it is sometimes a pain in my behind. I thought about trying a heat gun. My question is....when you use the heat gun to melt the top layer to fill in the sink hole, the wax on the wick melts too. Is that normal and is it okay? And should I use the heat gun on a low setting and melt the wax slowly or use the high setting and melt it a little quicker??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.....and I look forward to being a part of this forum!!! Y'all have a wonderful day :wave: