Help me!!!

I'm brand new to Soy Candlemaking and need advice! I have made some candles and gave some to my Mother In Law so she could be my tester. I just got feedback and i'm not happy! She said the scent throw was not strong enough and the candles(votives) didn't burn right. How do I get good scent throw? I know there is a certain time to add the scent but when is that? Also...why is it that some batches of votives seem to get cracks at the top and when I try to remove them from the mold(I do use mold release) they don't want to come out? I've had to dig them out and when I do I notice the candle is sort of mushy at the bottom. What am I doing wrong??

I just finished a bag of Ecosoya CB 135 and I just got a bag of Golden Brands 444 so I will be trying that for my next batch of candles.

What am I doing wrong??

It will be hard to tell you what you are doing wrong ... because we don't know what you did.

So please let us know how you poured your votives - step-by-step.

CB-135 is a container blend manufactured to stick to the sides of a jar ... so if you made your votives with that wax I imagine it would possibly stick.

Hi Judy!

Well...I heated the Cb 135 wax to 185 per the directions and poured it 125. I'm not clear as to when to add the scent though. I add the color right after I removed the pot from the burner and then I usually let it cool a bit and add the scent but now i'm wondering if I need to add the scent right after I remove the pot from the burner.

I'm anxious to try the Golden Brands 444 to see how that works. Have you used the 444 and if so what advice can you give me on heat temp, pour temp and when to add scent?

Thanks!:)

The best information I can give you is to provide you the link to the CB-135 manufacturer's instructions which includes when to add the FO: http://www.ngiwax.com/products/usingecosoya/cb135instructions.html