Weeping Salt Bars

Firefly

Hello,

I just made a batch of salt bars on Sunday yesterday and did them in the oven in my Bella mold (soaphutch mold sort like the kelsei but 3.5 x 2.5) so I wouldn't have to cut them. I used 50% dentritic salt (as I have tonnes of it and am out of sea salt) to total amount of oils before running it through the lye calculator. Also used about 1 oz of witch hazel as well as I read somewhere that someone else had tried it.

The bars came out stunning but they were really wet on the sides and bottom. Monday morning before work I used paper towel to wipe them dry and let them sit out to dry and whenever I notice drops on the sides of bottom I wipe them off and have made some samples to try first to see how they work.

Is it normal for salt bars to be wet? My batch was 21 ounces and I used 1.3 FO as I normally use 1 oz per pound and it was a Neroli FO. I've never used straight dentritic salt before so wondering if that might be the problem. Has anyone else used this salt before?

I am not sure about the salt...To be truthful I have never heard of that type..but does it have iodine in it...I have read, to be sure to use salt with no iodine..So maybe check the label..

Hope they turn out ok for you..At least you didn't make to big of a batch..the fo amount doesn't seem like that would be the problem..maybe someone else will chime in here and help out..

I also use a mold with dividers for my salt bars so I don't have to cut..and it is so much eaiser...

Thanks, I'm not sure if iodine is in there but I got it from The Sage awhile back but I don't see it on their site anymore. I've sent them an e-mail asking if it can be used in soaps.