Sfic

samandkennasmom

Hi,

I know this is gonna be a personal question but I have to ask....

which base do you all like better? I want some but have never tried any of them. I would like to add some goodies...herbs, castor,veggie glyercin....don't really have a recipe yet but would love for any help or thoughts. I've made soy candles for three years, think I need to move on to something else. Thankyou so much for the help!

Hugs!

Michele

I'm somewhat new to melt and pour too. I took advantage of the pre buy and bought 3 lbs each of the aloe, goat milk, shea, clear, and 1 lb of the shaving soap so that I can try them all out and mix them up a bit. I plan on sprucing them up with some additives too (been doing alot of research on craftserver figuring out what I want to add and how much). I didn't bother purchasing any oatmeal base because I like to add my own ground oats. If you have the funds maybe you could do the same... it should be alot of fun playing around with the different bases when they arrive. :smiley2:

SFIC is good. Essentials by Catalina is the absolute best! :)

That's only my opinion. I've tried just about all of them!

Simple easy things to have on hand to jazz up your soap:

Oatmeal

Honey

Goat's milk (powder, canned, fresh)

glycerin

unscented and undyed liquid soap

bazillions of other things.. maybe we should just start another thread! But those are fairly easy and relatively inexpensive things that you may either have laying around or can pick up at Wal-mart or Walgreens.

And just from my own experience, a better bar is generally produced when you add your own goat's milk, shea butter, aloe, etc, rather than buying Bases with those things added already. That's just what I've found from trying both.

I'm liking Stephenson's bases from the chemistry store right now due to cost. SFIC is my favorite except for their clear, it always seems to have a yellow cast to it. Stephenson's is crystal clear, love it.