Getting frustrated with wicks breaking off

I'm so irritated that everytime I trim my pillars lately the wicks break off very low. This happens whether I use wick trimmers, nail clippers, or scissors. I've been making candles for a few years now, and I don't remember this being such an issue before.

I end up having to pull out the wick and replace it with a new one so I can have it longer at the 1/4" it is supposed to be.

Anyone have any tips to avoid this? I know this is a kind of stupid post but it is just so frustrating.

I'm having the issue mostly with Fil-tec ultra cores and Hemps. I think what is different is that the other types of wicks have a curl and it is easier to take off some of the curl when the wick is cold than to take off some of the wick when it is straight up when it is cold.

I agree with staying with the same wick supplier, I learned that the hard way.

Ok stupid me was thinking you meant before it was ever burned! Was wondering how it would get too short! DUH...bad brain day?...seem to be having those lately. I actually have had the reverse problem, the flat wicks that bend seem to crack really low and then are hard to light. I have an old Clean Cut wick trimmer that has a little wick groove in the pan and it cuts soooo much better than the newer ones without the groove. It never breaks the wicks. Try a cuticle scissors if you have one, they are usually really sharp and have a curve. Might be difficult to get the scissors in as the pillar or container burns down past 1/2 way.

I am a fan of the footed wick trimmers, but just as often, I find myself reaching in and breaking it off with my fingertips. Have never had much trouble with them breaking off too shirt, but then again, I trim my wicks to 1/8" - 1/4".

Perhaps I'm not *getting it*, but I can't imagine one that breaks off so short it couldn't be lit and having to replace it... :confused: Any chance of a photo of one?