Scrub instructions

ebarnes

When making your scrubs do you mix the FO w/the sugar then add the oils or do you pour the oils (already mixed with F/O) over the sugar? I ask b/c when mixing the FO w/sugar the sugar seems to expand or become puffy. I guess it depends on perference.

Hi, I'm kinda new at this stuff...I was wondering what temp the oils have to be at before you add the sugar, and on another thread I thought I read where some people were beating their oils and stuff to make it whipped?? Then do they add the sugar?? Sorry, I'm confused, because I was reading about scrubs, and I think I got mixed up into lotions too...lol. Then you let it sit, but do you stir it occasionally? Thanks for your help!

After the solid butters have melted, I put the container in a large tub filled with ice cubes, add the liquid oils and stick blend the dickens outta them. After they begin to thicken (and have cooled, of course) I take them out of the ice bath and add polysorbate 20, preservative and FO. Sugar goes in last of all so the butters/oils are relatively cool at that point. I usually pour immediately into my containers and let it set up, which takes a few hours, so don't panic if it's still a bit runny for a while.

I do NOT bother to whip anything other than blending with the stick blender until everything is mixed very very well. I hear of so many that whip theirs and then once in the container they fall flat. Don't have an explanation for that, but my thinking is "why bother?"

HTH ;)