Question about FO %

I am fairly new to candle making. Right now I am only using CBAdvance. But as great as this wax is... I am getting no scent throw. I have one solution I am going to try which adding coconut oil.... but the other I was wondering was... I was using 10% Fo then decided to go down to 8%. The reason I went down to that is because when I told someone in another board that I was using 10% they said that was too much. I will admit I was getting better results with the 10%.

So my question to my fellow soy candle makers is... do you just automatically use 10% or do smaller amounts work with you?

I use no more than 1 ounce per pound of wax. If the FO won't throw with that amount, I either try the same FO from a different supplier, or I discard it (it's not like there isn't a WORLD of FOs out there...). I think using such high percentages is a waste of money and chances are, the problem lies with the wax or wicks and not with the FO amount itself. If I had a lot of problems with a wax not throwing well unless I used a lot of FO, I would test another brand. JMO... :wink2:

Have you thoroughly read and followed the CB instructions at the link below?

http://www.ngiwax.com/cb-instructions

Wicking, wax and FO all have a role to play in making a scented candle that throws well.

Thank you Stella. That was so much help! I was only letting these sit for 24 hours, sometimes not even that. Maybe that was my problem. I appreciate the help. It's hard for me not to test them right after I make them but I guess I have to now. Maybe I'll pick my nose or something to pass the time and get my mind of the candle! Just kidding. :D

I have found with CBA... the longer the cure the better. I have some I made in December and they rock. Now I know you don't want to have to wait forever for a great HT, but it does seem to be a wax that does "best" with a longer cure time.