Gourd containers...

Hi all ~ I'm very new to the whole candlemaking world. I have been working with gourds for a while and am wondering if anyone has utilized hard shell gourds as containers for candles. If so, how did it work and does anyone have any suggestions as to wax/wick/etc? Probably a bit foolish to attempt this right off the get-go, but I'm an adventurer!

Martha Stewart has :) Believe me, it is much easier to make candles out of them than to carve them as jackolanterns (those things are tough-skinned)!

Here's a link: http://www.marthastewart.com/page.jhtml?type=content&id=channel1384&contentGroup=MSL&site=living She did these on her show and they did make a really great presentation. Very organic looking.

PS: Curious, what do you do with them?

HTH!

I buy them online already dried from California Gourds. I've tried growing jumbo gourds here but our growing season is short and my dog likes to eat the baby plants...*sigh* It's kinda pricey but worth it because they are really high quality and guaranteed. It's a fun hobby but I'm looking to expand into other arenas.

I have been working with gourds for a while and am wondering if anyone has utilized hard shell gourds as containers for candles.

Howdy and welcome to the board :)

As in container candles... do you mean pouring the wax into it and leaving it? Burning the candle inside the gourd? If so, I would highly NOT recommend it. I may be way off base here, but it seems like the gourd would be flammable. There's been a lot of discussions lately on flammable shells candles and recalls of some because of the fire hazard. Some examples are coconut shells and tree bark. I would think a gourd would fall into this category :eek: I'm sure some one will jump in and correct me if I'm wrong ;)