Question about Mass Production

Hi,

Quick question about mass production (when I say mass production, for me, it’s 10 jars at a time...don't laugh). I melt my wax in a double boiler and pour it out of a melt pot. I wait until the wax is 175 degrees to pour; but by my 4th or 5th jar the wax is now approximately 160 or 165 degrees and it effects the appearance of the wax. So, do any of you professional candle makers have any suggestions or tips on pouring when you do your mass production? Thanks and I hope you all have a great Thanksgiving!!:D

I'm not a professional by far, but I've gotta ask what natural wax you're pouring at 175? Unless it's palm, which needs an even higher temp, that temp is a bit high for pouring. I pour even less at a time!! lol...my arthritic hands can't take the weight if it's over 2# (plus the weight of the pour pot.) I make several "batches" of the same candle when I need more.

Keep a thermometer in the pour pot. You may be trying to pour too many candles at one time from the same pot. It takes only moments to pour 10 candles, so I am not sure why your temp is dropping so quickly. Are you pouring one after the other or stopping to futz with wicks or something in between?

This reminds me a little of making jelly. Some folks get all their ducks in a row and are so smooth in filling their jars; others mess around in between and things start going south for them as a result. Rethink and track exactly what you are doing from the time your wax hits the pour pot and you will find your answer.:wink2:

• 2 weeks later...

I get all my jars ready to go first. That way there's no "futzin' " around later.