My first soaps so far (long)

jaybyrd

'K, I've been soaping for three months now, so I thought I'd step up and share what I've done so far, at least the successes. All CP. You will note that my cleanup skills are well below average!

1. Very first batch ever - no, I lie, make that 2nd batch, but first one that I could remove from the gladware "mold" in order to cut. :rolleyes2 CO/RBO/OO/castor oil, and used an infusion of lavender buds & dried rose petals for the lye water, which is where the natural brown tone comes from. I don't even remember what eo I put in it - I used so little that it vanished before pouring; it just has a neutral smell.

2. Cucumber-Watercress FO. CO/OO/sw. almond/castor. Swirled in the pot by dripping emerald and lime color directly in, quick swish & pour. This was a pia to photograph - the colors are so light they kept washing out. Nice, clean, subtle scent.

3. Berrywine FO from Brambleberry. PKO/OO / mango/ shea/RBO/ castor. My big idea originally was to make this for my bro-in-law; he's a big wine fancier and in the bottle the fo smells exACTly like a good red wine. It soaped completely different, to my nose anyway - sweeter & not winey at all - quite nice, but not very masculine, especially considering how pink the color turned out. This recipe and #2 are my favorites in the shower so far, skin-wise.

4. Garden-Kitchen soap. CO/ OO/ lard/ canola/ castor, with cornmeal for scrubbies. I had added litsea cubeba and green mandarin eo's, which was yummy, but I didn't use enough and all fragrance disappeared after a few days of curing. Works great, though!

5. Santas Spruce FO from Brambleberry. PKO/ OO/ lard/ canola/ castor. Ultramarine blue pigment in glycerine for the swirl in the pot.