web hosting site

soprey

I,ve been serching a lot of web hosting sites. Would like to hear some feed back on hosting sites people on the forum use, and which hosting sites have the least hidden fees. also Who would be good for a murchants for shopping carts for visa and mastercard?

Depends on what you're looking for. I've been designing websites since 1993 and a graphic designer for ten years before that - I'll try and break everything down to it's simplest form. You'll need the following

a host: basically, someone to give you server space to store your web files.

a shopping cart (look for free carts like zen cart or mal's cart): This will 'compile' your orders and allow people to pay and check out

a merchant account for your business: this is the 'banking' part of your business - it will allow you to accept credit cards in your company's name. Many merchant account services will provide you with a free shopping cart.

A payment 'gateway' - a secure way to transfer the credit card payments directly to your bank account (like authorize.net)

Now - there are some hosting services that will include a shopping cart with your monthly service. Since there are some very good free shopping carts out there, I don't see the 'packaged' shopping cart as a very valuable extra for a hosting service.

There are hosting services that will offer you free templates. There are PLENTY of free templates out on the internet, many condusive to ecommerce.

There are sites that will charge extra and 'design' your site for you - I can do that and I'm better (snicker) :grin2:

As far as a merchant account, VERY easy set up with moderate monthly fees can be found at charge.com. It will combine your merchant account with a payment gateway (I think they use authorize.net) and will set the whole thing up for you (no set up fee). They also offer a free shopping cart.

You can then use a host like godaddy for only $3.49 a month. They'll register your site for an additional $10.