What do you use for Inventory Control?

Demenshia

Just curious as to what everyone uses to keep track of inventory, sales, supplies etc? I looked at SoapMaker, but I only do candles and not sure how well that would work, I've also looked at a program called Craft Business Management System which seems awesome but pricey. I dont' have MS Office so Excel and Access are out. Right now doing most of this stuff by hand but as I grow I'd rather use the computer to help out :D. TIA

I use the SoapMaker software for candles. It's worked well for me so far.

You can download a free trial to play around with to see if it will work for you.

If you have any problems with it you can pm me.

I just started to use QuickBooks. I am still learning about it but plugging everything in. Right now I am just using the Sales Receipts section and the Income and Expense section. I am not sure how the inventory part works. I am able to tell what my best sellers are. I am also able to calculate how much I make at Home Parties, Craft Shows, Consignments, and different customers, etc.

How would the Craft one differ from QuickBooks? If it would be better I would consider it, but I hate the thought of having to transfer everything I put in this year over to it.

Quickbooks Premier. I enter wax, wicks, ect as inventory.. then pull them out of inventory and put them back in as a candle by making a build. I take the laptop to shows and sell right out of that inventory. I get reports on inventory, can set flags for ordering when stock is low, and get a profitability report on jobs and items sold. WELL worth the $$.

I use the Quickbooks NUE that came with my Powerbook. It doesn't have a true inventory module, but you can still set up items. I've changed it a bit this year - I've got an item for every type of soap. With candles I just had one item per type of candle, and didn't split it up by scent.