Wax consistency

I was wondering if anybody just gets straight paraffin wax and uses their own additives for whatever they are pouring? I'm starting to think that you would have more control over the burn and such if you just formulated your own wax and it would be consistent every time. ie a constant baseline wax to start with. What I'm looking at is that every time you use a different formula, change your supplier, you have to go through the entire testing protocol again. I would imagine some of the more involved chandlers have looked at this and wanted to get their input. Would it not make your wax the same every time and cut down on testing requirements?

Anybody? Elapid----<

I'm sorry, i'm not an expert, but i think that even if you added your own additives or not, if you change suppliers you will have to re-test anyway, as there are differences even in the same wax.

In the UK we only really get one or two types of wax, so i've been having to add my own additives and i do like it, as you can play around bit more with it to get the right burn etc.

Sadly i don't know much about all the USA sorts, but i suppose it's easier to add your own aditives and vary that, than maybe buy lots of different types of wax in the first place?

That's what I do with all my waxes.

Sometimes the same commercial blend is made in more than one place with different materials, so there are a few different kinds of Comfort Blend out there and and a few different kinds of J-223. In that respect your own formulation can be more consistent, but there's still no guarantee your raw materials won't vary.

As you point out, one major advantage is control. You can vary the formulation to fix problems or for any number of reasons. However it's not cheap or easy. For container blends you generally need to track down specialty ingredients and get stuff from multiple suppliers. It also takes a lot of time to learn how things are made and design your own formulas.

Elapid,