Starting out - essentials?

bunkie68

I'm fairly new to candlemaking - I have a dozen votive molds, a little wax, a few scents and colors, and a Fry Daddy that I melt wax in. :smiley2: Needless to say, that keeps me doing things on a very small scale. Right now I make candles upon requests from friends and family, but I'd like to branch out, maybe see if I can get a couple of local gift shops interested or get enough of an inventory built up to go to local craft fairs.

What would you say is the bare minimum needed to do this on any sort of commercial level, even limited as I've described above? How do you set up to melt more than just a couple of pounds of wax at a time, or have different colors ready to be made up? How many molds? Do you focus on one thing (i.e., just votives), or do you do several (votives, containers, and pillars, for example)? What kind of space should I think about setting up?

Any tips or suggestions you could offer would be greatly appreciated. I'm a single mom and would love to get to where I could bring in enough extra cash doing this to make a bit of difference to my monthly budget. :)

What kind of wax did you get? Container candles need a softer wax than say a pillar or votive.

You didn't mention wicks. The kind of wick you need depends on the type of candle you are going to make.

Its best to buy a sample assortment of different size wicks so you can test them out in your candle.

If we know what wax you have and what candle you want to make I am sure you can give you some advice on where to start.

Welcome to CT!

To me, the essentials are:

Heat gun (I have 3 for fear one will break in the middle of an order)

Good scale

Good notes

Tons of paper towels

Presto pots (I have 4, plus 2 Turk n Surfs)

Pour pots - as many as possible!

Molds - as many as possible

Frangrances - as many as possible, and then some