Millefiori/caned candles?

Okay, I really would appreciate some help here. I was wandering around the internet and found this photo of candles that are decorated with a veneer made using a millefiori technique, and I was wondering if anyone knew of any information source about doing millefiori in wax- a website, a book, personal experience- ANYTHING.

I am primarily a polymer clay artist, my specialty being millefiori, and if I could adapt this technique to wax I would be happier than you could even understand, and be able to make some unbelievable candles. :yay:

millefioricandle.jpg

p.s. I'm sure I can find info on doing the candles themselves- hurricanes, right?- but it's the caning techniques that I'm interested in, particularly what kind of wax is used.

Those are not canes they are solid wax candles with the coating on the outside. Machine made I would assume. I can do the same general thing by dipping layers of colored wax on a wick and twisting and pulling it like taffy then you slice it into pieces and layer them on the base candle. If a person were to try to make these by hand the time it would take to get them done would be hours and way too costly in time to think about retailing. I have one in the basement right now that I bought and there is no way you could make peace signs, stars ect and get them to look that nice by hand with wax. Plus you can buy them all over the net dirt cheap from china.

Bruce

I'm confused now, does "cane" mean something different when you are talking about candles? I meant it as in a millefiori cane.

I could easily make peace signs, stars, flowers, whatever with cold wax if it had a consistency anything close to clay, but the problem would be that the walls of the candle would need to be made of a hard, high melting point wax to prevent it from melting, and that's basically where I'm stuck.

I tried messing with container wax and it was actually quite a bit softer than poly clay (cool, or at least just warmed from my hands)