Newbie questions re: safety, wax

Hi all!

I am a candle noob and am just starting out making candles as a hobby. I got hooked when I recieved a candle making kit as a gift and I just received my first official order of supplies that weren't bought from a hobby shop.

I've been reading for awhile, but still have a few questions. My first question is embarrassing, but I am going to ask it anyways.. (I feel stupid asking this...) How in the WORLD do you cut up the wax that you receive in slabs??? I've only used pellets up until now. Tell me there is an easy way to do it? I would love to divide it into manageable 1/2 lb pieces, but how???

Secondly.. I was reading some instructions that came with my voitve making kit and to be honest... I just feel SCARED now. Scared I might start a fire! Has anyone actually had wax catch on fire? It said it is preferable to use an electric source of heat, and I only have gas. Being a noobie, am I literally playing with fire or what? How bad would you really have to screw up to start a fire with hot wax? Maybe someone can make me feel a little more less intimidated so I can get started. I'm afraid I will go back to all my hobby materials because I don't know if I'm ready for the "big stuff".

Editing to add a question: I ordered material to make votives and containers. Which is more difficult? Which would be the best to start with? Those are the two types I'd really like to master.

For what its worth, I am only a hobbyist, just making candles for personal use and gifts... many many gifts. I hope to save tons of $$$ on gifts over the years... (teachers, friends, family, etc)

Thanks alot!:confused: